Excuse my ignorance, but what is "quack", "twang" and all those odd names to describe guitar sounds..

For guitars of the straight waisted variety (or reverse offset).
Fiddy
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Excuse my ignorance, but what is "quack", "twang" and all those odd names to describe guitar sounds..

Post by Fiddy » Thu Apr 28, 2022 1:55 pm

I seriously don't have a clue... :ph34r:

Maybe it's because im a bedroom musician, but really, no one has ever said to me, damn that's some tasty quack you got there.

Or maybe I just need to get out more.. :fp:

Telliot
Mods
Mods

Re: Excuse my ignorance, but what is "quack", "twang" and all those odd names to describe guitar sounds..

Post by Telliot » Thu Apr 28, 2022 2:13 pm

My answer might fall into the category of, well, yeah...duh!, but I think of 'quack' as those in-between positions where you combine pickups, particularly the 2 and 4 positions on a Strat (think Sultans of Swing lead tone). As far as 'twang,' I think it's harder to define but generally think of it as the bridge tone on a Tele, especially when it's played in a country style. (Since that pickup was originally used for the Fender pedal steel guitars I think it has maintained that association.) In my head, 'twang' also seems synonymous with 'spank,' but maybe I'm wrong about that.
The cool thing about fretless is you can hit a note...and then renegotiate.

MayTheFuzzBeWithYou
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Excuse my ignorance, but what is "quack", "twang" and all those odd names to describe guitar sounds..

Post by MayTheFuzzBeWithYou » Thu Apr 28, 2022 2:37 pm

I agree with twang ~ spank... depending on the context. To me it‘s a sparkly defined clean tone (often combined with Spring Reverb). But as I don‘t like country - it‘s more Surf for me!
Maybe a little Italo Western (which turned dirty/fuzzy along its way of the dollar trilogy).

I add a question: what is creamy to you?

Telliot
Mods
Mods

Post by Telliot » Thu Apr 28, 2022 3:38 pm