Replacing shielding to reduce weight

Talk about modding or building your own guitar from scratch.
RaistMagus
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Replacing shielding to reduce weight

Post by RaistMagus » Sat Apr 20, 2024 3:31 am

I have an AVRI62 Jazzmaster that has large (copper?) plates and pools in it for shielding. I'm considering removing them to reduce weight. How much do you think they weigh? What lighter shielding solutions are there?

https://imgur.com/a/PfGXgXv

DrippyReverbTremolo
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Replacing shielding to reduce weight

Post by DrippyReverbTremolo » Sat Apr 20, 2024 4:05 am

Copper shielding tape will be lighter. Conductive paint will be lighter still.

If weight is (starting to be) an issue I would route the body between the pickups to the same depth as the control cavity.

Lightweight tuners are also an option. It all adds up.

bodhi
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by bodhi » Sat Apr 20, 2024 6:51 am

If you have a kitchen scale you could find out and share it with us :) I don't believe it'll be all that significant, unless they feel heavy in the hand.

There's a quite significant difference in the weight of individual pieces of wood, the JM and Jag bodies are pretty large, so the major weight is going to be there no matter what. Routing like suggested above will probably help out, but if the body is really heavy to start with, there's a limit how far you can get without visible impact.
Jazzmaster project (got a body, placeholder neck, some pickups and ideas)
Tokai Telecaster Thinline with Creamery Pickups Filtertron and Tapped Tele
Blake Mills-inspired Strat project w/ Gold Foil and slide pickup

Larry Mal
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by Larry Mal » Sat Apr 20, 2024 8:04 am

Probably like six ounces, maybe I should put that in grams here.

I cannot imagine it would be worth the effort, and also, things are grounded to those plates.