Meteora body in pine,...

Talk about modding or building your own guitar from scratch.
Afrika61
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Meteora body in pine,...

Post by Afrika61 » Sun Jun 26, 2022 12:20 pm

Just placed an order for a Meteora body in pine.
I've never worked with pine before so does anyone know of a good tutorial for applying a finish to pine, in this case black?
Thanks in advance!

Afrika61
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Re: Meteora body in pine,...

Post by Afrika61 » Mon Jun 27, 2022 5:40 pm

Monday night bump,....

AcrylicSuperman
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by AcrylicSuperman » Mon Jun 27, 2022 5:54 pm

I don't know much about Pine but I'd ask on TDPRI. Pine Telecasters were all the rage at one point. There is probably a wealth of information there.

epizootics
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by epizootics » Mon Jun 27, 2022 11:12 pm

It really depends on the kind of finish you're after - if you find pictures of what you'd like to achieve, we can give you pointers on how to get there :)

Norrin Radd
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by Norrin Radd » Tue Jun 28, 2022 7:20 am

epizootics wrote:
Mon Jun 27, 2022 11:12 pm
It really depends on the kind of finish you're after - if you find pictures of what you'd like to achieve, we can give you pointers on how to get there :)
Yup. Both guitars below have pine bodies. Very different types of finishes!

copacetic
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by copacetic » Tue Jun 28, 2022 10:32 am

Pine isnt especially different from other guitar woods in any huge way. Its not the tightest grain wood out there but it will take less grain filling than say Ash to get a level smooth finish. Like others have shown above Pine is popularly used without grain filler of any sort for the grainy look on the Novo, but by slapping enough material on it, you can build up a nice glossy smooth finish like any other wood.