Well...I got snookered

Talk about modding or building your own guitar from scratch.
ShortyMedlock
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Well...I got snookered

Post by ShortyMedlock » Sat Jul 24, 2021 10:15 pm

Soooo.... I have made a few posts about my Jaguar project.

I have collected many of the parts I need... a neck pickup, Mustang bridge, pickguard, wiring, chrome switch plates, vol/tone pots, locking tuners, 24" scale neck etc.

So now I am in the mockup stage having done some sanding and giving the body a good coat of primer. I mounted the neck this AM about 3 (could not sleep) But I'm troubled with the position of the bridge being very close to the rear pickup route... then tonite the lightbulb goes off... I have a Jazzmaster body NOT a Jaguar!

The pickup routes are much bigger and, when coupled with a 24" scale neck, the bridge posts are only about 1/4" away from the edge of the route. The pickguard is close but not perfect.

So now I have a decision to make... do I build a 24" scale Jazzmaster and build it out with all the traditional JM switches, pickups, etc? Or do I buy a 25 1/2" neck and go the EZ route?

I like the shorter scale... I can glue in a spacer block at the back of the lead pickup cavity to give the bridge mouints more meat to stay in place.

Might just get in touch with the Amazon seller that I bought the body from and see if I can get a REAL Jaguar body and save this one for the JM build I was going to do. I am one past the time that I can get a full refund.

Shoot...

kdanie
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Well...I got snookered

Post by kdanie » Sun Jul 25, 2021 7:01 am

You can't use a Jag neck on a JM body, the intonation will be off. You are stuck with the 25 1/5" scale with that body unless you plug & re-drill the bridge holes and route the neck pocket farther into the body. I used to have a drawing of the two bodies overlayed to show the differences but I can't find it, I'll keep looking.

ken