is this a "normal" amt of buzz for a jazzmaster?

For help with setups and other technical issues.
Rainbow Battle Kid
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

is this a "normal" amt of buzz for a jazzmaster?

Post by Rainbow Battle Kid » Mon Mar 18, 2024 12:43 pm

So i'm relatively new to jazzmasters after having a strat most of my life

i'm getting this insane buzz at the bridge, and everyone talks about getting buzz on their jassmasters but like, is this what they're talking about?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GpWxZRoJtSY

i think this thing's got 10s on it fwiw. i haven't changed them in a WHILE

bought from a friend and here's the specs on the bridge
2018 Johnny Marr Jaguar modern narrow spacing 7.25" radius bridge
American Vintage bridge thimbles.
also has a shim fwiw

i brought it to my local shop to get set up and maybe diagnose, but they're pretty backed up so i can't take it in for a couple weeks. but the guy was saying bridge buzz is pretty common and lots of people get mastery bridges to counter it but like, i don't even think this was buzzing this much when i first got it? could is just be something is out of alignment or something?

also this is a real NOOB thing but like, the bridge seems to have 2 positions, basically straight up and angled back toward the tremolo. should i just be using one of those? when it's buzzing like this, if i shift it back to towards the tremolo and then back up, the buzzing will usually stop until i play for a while. :'(

i'd like to not have to get a new bridge or buzz stop or whatever if possible but am i kinda locked into that route if i don't want this insane sound?

thanks for any help!
http://attractmode.bandcamp.com
http://motionlines.bandcamp.com

Larry Mal
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: is this a "normal" amt of buzz for a jazzmaster?

Post by Larry Mal » Mon Mar 18, 2024 1:46 pm

No, there's something wrong there, that's not normal in any way.