How do you split a Seymour Duncan JB Jr. with a push-push pot in a jaguar?

For help with setups and other technical issues.
MaartenAars
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

How do you split a Seymour Duncan JB Jr. with a push-push pot in a jaguar?

Post by MaartenAars » Thu Feb 22, 2024 4:33 am

I got a Squier Jaguar about 1,5 years ago when I started playing electric guitar. I didn't know alot about guitar specs, so I just bought one that I thought looked the prettiest. The problem is, I mainly play grunge and metal, so the single coils aren't the greatest fit for me. Thats why i'm thinking about upgrading my bridge pickup to a Seymour Duncan JB Jr.

You could argue that the price of that pickup is half the price of the guitar itself and that I should maybe just buy another guitar. But that guitar was a gift from my mom and I don't want it collecting dust. Also just because I'm in love with the shape of the guitar and I want to know how the electronics of a guitar work.

I'd like to hook up the humbucker to a push-push pot. I already have a base of knowledge about electronics, but I think I'm going to need help if I want to do this. If anyone knows how I should pull this off please let me know :)

JSutter
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: How do you split a Seymour Duncan JB Jr. with a push-push pot in a jaguar?

Post by JSutter » Thu Feb 22, 2024 6:51 am

There are 2 wires that come soldered together and insulated (heat shrink). All you have to do is remove the insulation and connect those wires to ground through your switch. That grounds one coil and completes the circuit for the other coil making it a single coil.

B.T.
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by B.T. » Thu Feb 22, 2024 6:57 pm

MaartenAars wrote:
Thu Feb 22, 2024 4:33 am