Replaced pickguard on my jazzmaster - now 2 issues

For help with setups and other technical issues.
frank grimez
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Replaced pickguard on my jazzmaster - now 2 issues

Post by frank grimez » Sat May 06, 2023 3:24 pm

I just replaced the pickguard on my MIJ traditional ii jazzmaster and now have 2 issues:

1. When I play on neck pickup, the sound cuts in and out. It was working fine at first, but after about an hour of play, the issue started. Not sure if I messed up a wire or what. I’m not good with soldering, but I do have some deoxit on hand. Should I try using it on the wires, and if so, where exactly should a spray it?

2. I feel like the mint green pickguard is too green.. I purchased from eBay and maybe I should not have gone with the cheapest route. Can someone recommend where to order a quality looking mint green pickguard?

*not sure why I’m unable to upload the image but a picture of the guitar with new pickguard can be found here : https://imgbox.com/gsS1ioZm

glennhl
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Re: Replaced pickguard on my jazzmaster - now 2 issues

Post by glennhl » Sat May 06, 2023 6:23 pm

Look for a bad solder joint somewhere in the neck pickup wires. Just lightly tug on the solder joints to make sure they are solid. And for what it's worth, I think that pickguard color is perfect! Beautiful guitar.

frank grimez
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Post by frank grimez » Sat May 06, 2023 8:12 pm

Appreciate the reply.

Do you think that applying deoxit on the solder joints would help?

timtam
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by timtam » Sat May 06, 2023 8:22 pm

No, deoxit is a cleaner/lubricant where two surfaces are in contact/rub on each other (eg switches, pot wipers, connectors), not soldered contacts. If it's a newish guitar, the contact surfaces in pots and switches are unlikely to need it.