Volume knob fuzz clean-up problem

For help with setups and other technical issues.
CIJ
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Volume knob fuzz clean-up problem

Post by CIJ » Wed Sep 08, 2021 6:37 am

I have a 2007 CIJ Jazzmaster with an Andy Rothstein vintage prewired assembly, so a 1 Meg linear volume pot (I think). When running into a Magnetic Effects White Atom fuzz pedal (silicon-germanium hybrid), rolling off volume on the guitar does not clean up the fuzz very well - I mean it cleans up, but only when I roll all the way back to, say, 1 on the volume knob, which is not very useful for this purpose. The clean-up trick works beautifully with my Tele through this pedal though. What gives? I'm guessing it's the fact (?) the Jazzmaster volume pot is linear rather than audio taper? Would swapping it out for a 1 Meg audio pot fix the problem? And if so, would there be any disadvantages to doing so?

HarlowTheFish
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Volume knob fuzz clean-up problem

Post by HarlowTheFish » Wed Sep 08, 2021 6:55 am

Sounds like it's a taper issue for sure.

The difference between a linear and audio taper (say the standard 10% taper) is that at 50% of the pot's sweep, the linear is at 50% output, whereas the audio is at 10%. When you're running a slightly compressed clean amp, linear is kinda nice because it lets you adjust the actual audible volume pretty well. If you're trying to clean up, an audio taper (the standard is 10% taper i.e. at halfway on the knob, you're outputting 10% as much as full, but you can also get 20% or 30%) gets you a bit more usable room on the knob, because you don't have to turn to the last 10% of the rotation and have more room to work with towards the bottom of the dial.

CIJ
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Post by CIJ » Wed Sep 08, 2021 7:15 am