Jazzmaster Wiring Problem—Help!

For help with setups and other technical issues.
pheelup
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Jazzmaster Wiring Problem—Help!

Post by pheelup » Mon May 24, 2021 4:16 pm

Okay, so I’m having a problem with my Jazzmaster. I have a Squier VM Jazzmaster with a couple of upgrades. Everything was working just fine but this weekend I put in a Fender wiring harness, hooked it up to a custom painted pickguard, and installed some new pickups. I used copper conductive tape on the inside of the guitar and back of the pickguard. I hook everything up, check the pickups, and they work. But when I push the pickguard in place with the body—poof! Lead circuit goes silent. I’m not sure what to do. Thoughts?Image[/img]

schoolie
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Jazzmaster Wiring Problem—Help!

Post by schoolie » Mon May 24, 2021 5:33 pm

Maybe a wire/component is touching the shielding. To troubleshoot try insulating with something like a plastic shopping bag, and see if the problem goes away. YOu should be able to locate the problem.

andy_tchp
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by andy_tchp » Mon May 24, 2021 6:33 pm

Output terminal from the three-way switch is probably shorting against the shielding tape.

There's almost no space in there.
"I don't know why we asked him to join the band 'cause the rest of us don't like country music all that much; we just like Graham Lee."
David McComb, 1987.

charmonder
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by charmonder » Mon May 24, 2021 8:05 pm

andy_tchp wrote:
Mon May 24, 2021 6:33 pm
Output terminal from the three-way switch is probably shorting against the shielding tape.

There's almost no space in there.
yup, its gotta be something like this, you can put an inch of painters tape* onto the shielding above the selector terminal and also the vol/tone pot lugs.

*or any normal non conductive tape

pheelup
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Post by pheelup » Tue May 25, 2021 4:32 am