Squier Bass VI CV tuner upgrade options?

Discussion of newer designs, copies and reissue offset-waist instruments.
SmoggyTwinkles
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Squier Bass VI CV tuner upgrade options?

Post by SmoggyTwinkles » Sun Apr 04, 2021 12:02 pm

Sorry, need help here.

I recently picked one of these up (love it!) and as always with these off-set designs (been playing a MIJ Jag since 1994 as my main guitar) they need work and I'm happy to do it.

But something causing me trouble is the tuners. Mine are crap, 3 of the 6 have wiggly tuning keys/posts.

I'm just starting out getting this Bass VI to be where I want it, done a nice shim, reversed the saddles on the bridge and reversed the bridge, messed with the truss rod a bit,

But I really want to put sturdier tuners on this, and I'd like to perhaps spend the ridiculous amount of money on those La Bella strings because I love flatwounds on my Jag and think I'd love them on the Bass VI as well.

So long story short, what tuners can I get that will accomodate the larger strings? I was looking at Hipshot stuff and you can request the low E to accommodate .090, well the La Bella stainless flats have a .095 low E.

Help? And thanks and happy Easter everyone.

Debaser
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Squier Bass VI CV tuner upgrade options?

Post by Debaser » Sun Apr 04, 2021 3:06 pm

I used LaBellas roundwounds on my stock VM Bass VI tuners with no issues. LaBellas are great, immediate upgrade. They make the set just for the Bass VI so they taper the string ends in order to fit Kluson split shaft tuners/regular guitar tuners. Flats have the same low 'E' 0.095" outer diameter.

My advice would be to get a set of Gotoh split shafts. I personally find Gotoh splits to be the best tuners around, I use them for any build or stock replacement. I'm no bass player, so maybe heavy gauge strings are harder on tuning machines, but I'd rather replace a set every 7 years then have to ream the headstock and drill new holes.