My first Jazzmaster - help required.

Discussion of newer designs, copies and reissue offset-waist instruments.
NIghthawk
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

My first Jazzmaster - help required.

Post by NIghthawk » Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:46 pm

Hi all,
Been playing for years and have a stack of guitars etc, but I'm relatively new to offsets. I bought a Pawnshop Bass VI last year and was converted instantly (once I'd upgraded the bridge etc..). Now I'm looking to buy a Jazzmaster - I considered a Jaguar, but can't find one to try. I'm in Canberra Australa. It may be the nation's capital but it's a small town with only 2 guitar shops.

I think I want a MIJ Hybrid 60s - it has the US pickups, locking tuners and better bridge - but I also tried a G&L Doheny recently and was amazed at how good it was. But it doesn't have the beauty of the Jazzmaster..

Recommendations anyone?

Unicorn Warrior
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: My first Jazzmaster - help required.

Post by Unicorn Warrior » Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:56 pm

Ultimately, sounds like getting the Doheny won’t satisfy your lust for the JM.

Only option is to get the JM. If you hate how it plays, you can flip it and re-buy the Doheny.

Japanese Fenders are typically really good btw.

adamrobertt
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by adamrobertt » Thu Dec 03, 2020 7:37 am

Yeah, the Doheney has the body shape of a Jazzmaster but otherwise it doesn't have much in common with one. The pickups look cosmetically similar but they aren't really, and it has a strat-style bridge. IMO the two best things about the JM are the unique pickups and the vibrato system.

Veitchy
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by Veitchy » Thu Dec 03, 2020 2:23 pm