Magnatones (1965-1967) (Pics heavy)

Discussion of vintage Jazzmasters, Jaguars, Bass VIs, Electric XIIs and any other offset-waist instruments.
HH1978
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Magnatones (1965-1967) (Pics heavy)

Post by HH1978 » Sun May 22, 2016 1:02 pm

Hello,

I've been collecting Magnatones for a couple of years, and I really like them, so I thought I'd share the informations I could gather, and hopefully hear other players's infos and opinions about them. (Especially, if someone could help me to figure out how the switches act on a Typhoon, I would be VERY interested!)

The Typhoon and Tornado are offset, the Zephyr and Hurricane are not, but I'd like to keep them all in the same post if you don't mind

Please note that whatever good I might say about them, they are NOT at the same level of quality as Fender from the era, but their price on the "made in USA" vintage market make them a good value for money.

History

Ok, let's start with facts : the Starstream serie was launched in the summer of 1965 (though Magnatone's website states end of 1964). Three people were involved in the process, including Paul Barth, who started at the National company, beeing member of John Dopyera's family, and then was a founder member of Rickenbacker. He was fisrt hired by magnatone in the late fifties, when he designed the Mark VI, then the Artist series (aka mk VII, VIII, IX and X). In the meantime in founded his own company (Barth Natural Music Guild), then in the late sixties, he founded Bartell of California.
Also involved were Tony Price and Larry Ludwick.