New 64 jaguar with some questions

Discussion of vintage Jazzmasters, Jaguars, Bass VIs, Electric XIIs and any other offset-waist instruments.
Nayff
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

New 64 jaguar with some questions

Post by Nayff » Wed Dec 22, 2021 1:27 pm

Hey! I’ve been a fan of this page for a while and have asked some advice before but now finally have a vintage jaguar and want to share and ask some more questions!!

1. I think it looks all original no issues except I changed the bridge back from the repayment to an original stock bridge. Do you all agree that it looks good or anything looking weird? Need any other pictures to be sure?

2. I think I’m gonna refinish it… leaning toward burgundy mist, shell pink, or Sherwood green (I have a 2019 fiesta red jazzmaster otherwise I would’ve gone red for this one) any opinions on refin color? Curious what people like.

3. The pick guard has shrunk a bit but still fits and I want to put the mute back on but either I’m doing something wrong or the pick guard is too messed up but I can’t get it to work would you replace the guard or go no mute or any advice for installing a mute? I might just not know how

4. If you notice in the pics, the neck doesn’t like to stay aligned. I put it on and keep it straight before triggering the screws but then there’s a little gap in the pocket. Is this a big or fixable issue?

5. Thanks for any advice or comments… this is my first jag in general and I love it. The shorter neck, the electronics, pickups, neck feel on this in…. I can see why they’re becoming a bit pricier. I think I got lucky on this one in the sale price because it’s been stripped and I had to ask the seller for some pictures because he only posted a few basic ones. Anyway.. here are some pics, let me know what you think!!

https://ibb.co/WnwchRN
https://ibb.co/MnQwD4Y
https://ibb.co/c2k4jvy
https://ibb.co/x3Fc1Jp
https://ibb.co/dp3LW9g
https://ibb.co/930XccN
https://ibb.co/9V5tRcw

JSett
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923