MIDI drum input device recommendations, please

All instruments that aren't guitars (or bass guitars).
marqueemoon
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

MIDI drum input device recommendations, please

Post by marqueemoon » Mon Jul 31, 2023 5:29 pm

I thought about posting this in Recording, but that subforum sees a bit less activity, and this is as much an instrument question as anything so...

What do y'all like for this? I've been muddling through for a very long time programming drums with an ancient Oxygen 8 MIDI controller. I'm a terrible keyboard player, so if I'm putting down an organ part or whatever I know I'm going to need to fix stuff regardless, but it's gotten very frustrating for drums. Too many timing/feel problems. I'd love to be able to put down more complete parts and only fix glaring issues. Unlike with keys where I'm outright terrible I'm a so-so drummer, so it's really obvious to me when the feel is not right.

I don't have money or space for a full electronic drum kit. I think an ideal situation would either be a 32 key controller with decent velocity sensitive pads built in (to conserve desk space) or something separate I could throw on a stand and hit with sticks.

I'm using Garageband now, but plan to move to Logic in the next year or so. No onboard sounds are necessary as long as this theoretical device can talk to the DAW I'm using. I'd prefer an old school MIDI connection over USB.

Bradley-Jazz
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: MIDI drum input device recommendations, please

Post by Bradley-Jazz » Tue Aug 01, 2023 3:06 am

Hi, I need to preface this by saying I’m not a drummer at all, and have only used MIDI in a pretty basic way, but….