Re-amping

Get that song on tape! Errr... disk?
User avatar
jorri
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 2498
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 1:53 am
Location: bath, UK
Contact:

Re: Re-amping

Post by jorri » Sun Apr 04, 2021 5:17 am

My experience with it has been not really needing to do it. Taking DIs at studios, where in most cases an amp sim is handy enough...

There are cases i like it for though: bi-amping- so we've recording a cool sounding guitar, but where's the bass? Well stick it through an amp with bass instead of ruining it with EQ, shift in phase and add it.
-stereo FX- well if the effects stereo i want two amps to be identical so record DI and do each channel consecutively.
- some technique from Silvia Massey where you swing a mic around when recording for doppler effect modulation.
-live band performance style recording, just using amps to monitor (away from drums). Band decides after the intensive activity how theyd like it to sound, and dont need to play with isolating each member unless >1 loud acoustic instruments involved.

User avatar
redchapterjubilee
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 1613
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 11:01 am
Location: AVLNC

Re: Re-amping

Post by redchapterjubilee » Mon Apr 05, 2021 5:59 am

I have an Orchid Amp interface. It works for both XLR and 1/4" inputs and knocks them down to instrument level. I've been able to successfully reamp signal from a friend's guitar parts recorded straight out of his pedal board from my iPad out to the Orchid box and into my amp. It works very well. I also use this box on occasion to run my line level synthesizers into my pedalboard.

Post Reply