"Turbo Toggle" Rat mod?

Everyone needs a stompbox.
MrShake
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

"Turbo Toggle" Rat mod?

Post by MrShake » Thu Jan 08, 2015 7:32 pm

Hi everybody.

I've been working on some basic Rat mods and have hit a speed bump. I promise I've done a lot of searching before asking, but the problem is that since everyone has a favorite variation or twist on each one, I'm buried in options, and I'm still learning how to read schematics. I'm trying, but hoping that understanding this one will help me understand some bigger-picture electronics stuff, too.

I'd like to end up with a 2-way mode switch to choose between standard silicon Rat clipping and LED clipping, "Turbo Rat"-style. I've got the parts, and THINK I've come up with the right method. I've sketched out what I think is the correct way to do it, but wanted to check with the experts whether this plan would work. (The dotted D3 & D2 represent where the stock diodes to br removed from the board used to be):

For reference:

Here are my concerns:

1) most of the "Mightier Mouse"-type mods I've seen call for a 3-way switch for a "diode lift" option. I'm not after more than "standard" and "Turbo" (LED). Will the 2-position SPDT switch I have do what I want? Or should I just go ahead and get the 3-position switch?

2) Is there a specific size/type of red LEDs I should be using? 5mm?

3) I'm not too worried about wiring up the switch (and making sure to pair the diodes "opposite" each other, as well). But do I have my diodes-to-board wiring correct as far as where each wire goes from the switch?

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. And I promise I'll keep trying to learn!

FightingPlankton
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: "Turbo Toggle" Rat mod?

Post by FightingPlankton » Fri Jan 09, 2015 9:26 am

1) your setup will be fine. the 3 position is center off, which is just a bit of a boost and less gritty.