Do you hoard discontinued pedals that make up ''your'' sound?

Everyone needs a stompbox.
X-Ray Spex
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Do you hoard discontinued pedals that make up ''your'' sound?

Post by X-Ray Spex » Tue Jun 14, 2022 6:38 am

Something I've been thinking about a lot recently is that my live pedalboard setup (my home setup is another story, lots of loopers for writing but unnecessary and unwieldy for live use) has remained the same since I started playing 16 years ago.

As a consequence there's two or three rare-ish discontinued pedals that I rely on for ''my'' sound, and I tend to buy them whenever they pop up on Reverb etc.

Now I find myself with a ridiculous number of backups, 4-5 of each specific pedal not including the number 1 pedal that sits on the live board and number 2 that sits in the gigbag if things go haywire. But I can't bring myself to get rid of them just in case something happens, and they're discontinued so there's the ever present fear that once they're gone they're gone forever. Also there's the whole ''Klon effect'' price-creep issue with pedals that would make re-purchasing them difficult if I was to try to get them back.

I do have storage space for them and they do get swapped out regularly and maintained etc.

Does anyone else do this? At what point did you stop hoarding or did you ever stop to begin with?
''It's not what you play, it's what you play'' - Troy Van Leeuwen

sal paradise
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Do you hoard discontinued pedals that make up ''your'' sound?

Post by sal paradise » Tue Jun 14, 2022 6:52 am

After my 17th Shredmaster, I started to wonder if I had a problem…
I have nothing to offer anybody, except my own confusion?

JSett
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by JSett » Tue Jun 14, 2022 7:18 am