I think it's time I got a new amp... advice? (noob alert)

Make it loud here.
garyptaszek
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

I think it's time I got a new amp... advice? (noob alert)

Post by garyptaszek » Sun Jan 22, 2023 1:12 pm

So I've been using the same am since 2010, a Blackstar Series One 45 (and a 50 watt head version).
I've recently been having some latency issues with the channel switcher, there's a software reset (yeah, its one of those kinda amps).

I'm so used to my amp and its 4 channels (bright clean, warm clean, crunch, super crunch), I don't really have a clue what I want going forward.
I don't have any overdrive pedals (or any idea what overdrive pedals I like), but I was considering maybe a single channel amp and do my gain stages with pedals instead
I'm gonna try my best to resolve the latency issue, but if I can't I still have the head version to use. so maybe I should just buy a cab instead?

... help.

JSett
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: I think it's time I got a new amp... advice? (noob alert)

Post by JSett » Sun Jan 22, 2023 1:53 pm

Silly Rabbit, don't you know scooped mids are for kids?

JSett
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by JSett » Sun Jan 22, 2023 2:00 pm

Jokes aside, you can get away with a 2 channel amp and a boost.

Bright clean = bridge pickup, CH1
Warm Clean = neck pickup, CH1
Crunch = CH2 set slightly dirty
Super crunch = CH2 plus MXR Micro Amp

I know you, and your tone extremely well. My recommendation is a Fender Supersonic Twin (because I know you prefer a 2x12)
Silly Rabbit, don't you know scooped mids are for kids?

sal paradise
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by sal paradise » Sun Jan 22, 2023 2:11 pm

Oh crap, I forgot the Series one had emulated speaker out & that ISF stuff. I guess it was early for that kinda software.

Damn great sounding amps though.