Synth through Guitar Pedals?

All instruments that aren't guitars (or bass guitars).
User avatar
StevenO
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 17475
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:06 pm

Synth through Guitar Pedals?

Post by StevenO » Sun Mar 17, 2019 11:56 am

What's the best way to do this without creating any unwanted distortion/overloading?

User avatar
fuzzjunkie
Expat
Expat
Posts: 3954
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:32 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Synth through Guitar Pedals?

Post by fuzzjunkie » Sun Mar 17, 2019 3:04 pm

When I have done it:

1) lower the output volume on synth or use hi-z output if it has them.
2) use a pedal that excepts line-level output, like an Eventide Space.
3) use a mixer and side chain the effects.
4) lived with the distortion. I once got an amazingly blown out and compressed fuzz sound from a synth tube Screamer combo.

I haven’t used one, but there are re-amping devices that step the gain down that might work.

User avatar
mbene085
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 4192
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 5:07 am

Re: Synth through Guitar Pedals?

Post by mbene085 » Sun Mar 17, 2019 4:58 pm

#2 works well - this is exactly what mixers are meant to do! Sending the signal to your effects and mixing them back in in parallel is great.

Re-amping boxes (reverse-DI) work for when you want to just run everything straight through. The key is that you're bringing line level, lo-Z, (+/- balanced) signal to instrument level, hi-Z, unbalanced inputs on the pedals.

User avatar
StevenO
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 17475
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:06 pm

Re: Synth through Guitar Pedals?

Post by StevenO » Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:49 pm

I have a mixer with an fx send so I'll try it and see if it works.

As for the re-amp box, any suggestions on what works?

Currently, just trying to deal with the distortion doesn't work as there's just too many weird unpleasant overtones to work with.

User avatar
StevenO
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 17475
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:06 pm

Re: Synth through Guitar Pedals?

Post by StevenO » Mon Mar 18, 2019 3:15 am

Tried out the mixer thing... Didn't really work out too well as there is still way more distortion than I would like. Maybe I just need to go the reamp route.

User avatar
panoramic
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 15642
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:09 pm
Location: baltimore, md.

Re: Synth through Guitar Pedals?

Post by panoramic » Mon Mar 18, 2019 6:11 am

I've been running mine straight into a few effects (with the vol turned way way down) and running them out of a guitar amp with much success though running them through a mixer would probably be ideal I am just lazy about setting that stuff up even though i own all of it. It works especially well with my REVER pedal and turbo rat
i used to be cool

User avatar
StevenO
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 17475
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:06 pm

Re: Synth through Guitar Pedals?

Post by StevenO » Mon Mar 18, 2019 7:23 am

I might try the mixer thing again, even though it's been not working so far. For the most part, the reverb doesn't distort too much just a little hair around the edges on some settings, but the TC Flashback delay I have (actually, all the delays I have) just has too much distortion and harsh overtones to be usable.

If that doesn't work, I'll pony up for a Radial reamp box, which will hopefully address my needs.

User avatar
fuzzjunkie
Expat
Expat
Posts: 3954
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:32 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Synth through Guitar Pedals?

Post by fuzzjunkie » Mon Mar 18, 2019 8:25 am

It could be that your levels aren't right or creating a feedback loop?

There are some tips here: https://www.sweetwater.com/insync/using-pedals-mixing/

The only pedals that I use with synths atm, all have line-level/lo-z inputs, so I haven't used a mixer in a long while, and never a re-amp device. Radial are well known.

User avatar
mbene085
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 4192
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 5:07 am

Re: Synth through Guitar Pedals?

Post by mbene085 » Mon Mar 18, 2019 11:36 am

Are you cutting the gain way down on the output/send to the effects?

My two thoughts regarding distortion you might be getting are that 1) the signal coming from the mixer is too hot and needs to be trimmed/cut significantly, or 2) the bandwidth of the signal might be too wide - specifically the bass end of the spectrum. Guitar pedals aren't designed to take the sheer quantity of bass and sub-bass that a synth is capable of. Using a high-pass filter, bandpass filter, or even just a shelf EQ on the bass might clean up that distortion you're getting.

The passive Radial reamp box is high quality and good-sounding if you go that route. I don't think you need to spring for anything more expensive than that.

User avatar
StevenO
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 17475
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:06 pm

Re: Synth through Guitar Pedals?

Post by StevenO » Tue Mar 19, 2019 3:17 am

I think I kind of have the levels at a point where nothing is being too distorted. Not ideal, but it will do for now. I'll probably end up buying a reamp box in the future, particularly the radial one, as they aren't too expensive.

User avatar
StevenO
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 17475
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:06 pm

Re: Synth through Guitar Pedals?

Post by StevenO » Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:07 am

Mixer is officially working well! Not sure what changed, but looks like I can hold off on a reamp for now.

User avatar
Telliot
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 9923
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 6:38 pm
Location: Orange County, CA

Re: Synth through Guitar Pedals?

Post by Telliot » Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:25 am

8)
The cool thing about fretless is you can hit a note...and then renegotiate.

User avatar
StevenO
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 17475
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:06 pm

Re: Synth through Guitar Pedals?

Post by StevenO » Wed Mar 20, 2019 9:34 am

Now I have everything going through the mixer for ease of use. Sounds great so far!

Image

User avatar
fuzzjunkie
Expat
Expat
Posts: 3954
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:32 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Synth through Guitar Pedals?

Post by fuzzjunkie » Mon Apr 01, 2019 9:02 am

Awesome!

User avatar
higgsblossom
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 934
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 2:55 am
Location: Mannheim, Germany

Re: Synth through Guitar Pedals?

Post by higgsblossom » Mon Apr 01, 2019 9:57 am

Your setup is a perfect piece of art in itself! :-*
"500€? That's the price of a J Mascis Jazzmaster!"

Post Reply