Favourite strings on a dreadnought?...

For guitars of the straight waisted variety (or reverse offset).
PorkyPrimeCut
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Favourite strings on a dreadnought?...

Post by PorkyPrimeCut » Wed Oct 29, 2014 11:49 pm

I'm asking because I'm replacing the strings on my newly acquired Guild D50.

I had a little search last night and got several answer regarding gauge & material. It seems the concensus is on light gauge strings & a lot of people favour bronze phosphor. Suits me as I use the latter myself but alway bought medium gauge. I'm fine with moving to a lighter set.

I'm going for a new brand too, Elixir, as I've never tried them before. My go-to brand had been Martin up until now. There seem to be several brands that have a coating used to extend the life of strings (by countering the effects of dead skin & sweat I guess) but I'm not sure how much of it is marketing talk. Elixir have "nanoweb".

Also, I say "dreadnought" in case other larger or smaller bodied acoustics are designed to use different strings. I'm sure body (maybe even neck) construction may be a factor too. Mahogany, rosewood, sitka, spruce etc... For the record, my D50 is rosewood with a spruce top.

I was also told, once upon a time on Denmark Street, that dreadnoughts should be strung with 11s. Any opinions?
You think you can't, you wish you could, I know you can, I wish you would. Slip inside this house as you pass by.

shadowplay
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Favourite strings on a dreadnought?...

Post by shadowplay » Thu Oct 30, 2014 12:12 am

I've used Rotosound Super Bronze for a long time, the 'Super, bit relating to their piano wind. There might we'll be better strings out there but I've never thought to change. Made in England too.

D
Are you loathsome tonight?

Despot
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by Despot » Thu Oct 30, 2014 12:49 am