Re: Complete noob lefty JM Project - Basic help?

Talk about modding or building your own guitar from scratch.
jodia54d
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Complete noob lefty JM Project - Basic help?

Post by jodia54d » Sat Nov 10, 2007 2:18 pm

Hi guys,

Completely new to building guitars, and would like some basic advice.
Being a lefty, I'm thinking it might be easier to build a JM rather than get 1 from Ishibashi (only place I can find lefty JMs).
After tinkering around with the dressing room, here's the guitar thats in my head.

I spoke to a couple of luthiers in San Francisco, some recommended that I refrain from building (huh?), some insist on using their own woods, necks, etc.

Should I attempt to build 1 myself or get a luthier to assemble 1 for me?
I know nothing about finishing/painting wood, wiring, etc.

Advice?

northern_dirt
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by northern_dirt » Sat Nov 10, 2007 2:44 pm

dude that pic is backwards ;)
'cleanest, best pleasure'

Stratelejazzuar
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by Stratelejazzuar » Sat Nov 10, 2007 2:45 pm

if you can take that dressing room creation and show it to one or two luthiers in your area who say they can create it, go for it!

i don't know where you'd find a lefty trem unit for a jazzmaster, but i'm sure they're available  ???

if you could sacrifice the neck binding, i'd say go with an ishibashi purchase, then have the body refinished and then work your way up from there, according to how happy you are with the pickups, etc...

and it just occured to me that if you don't mind where the trem arm sticks out of the tailpiece, you could get an right-hand american trem unit, which would be readily available. the only 'issue' would be that the arm comes out of the opposite side of the plate (i.e. top) - sort of liek a SRV-style jazzmaster trem installation...  :D

Stereordinary
Expat
Expat

Post by Stereordinary » Sat Nov 10, 2007 2:46 pm

I think it all boils down to two things:

1. Your budget.