Time to come clean about why I'm asking for measurements etc.....

Talk about modding or building your own guitar from scratch.
zhivago
Mods
Mods

Time to come clean about why I'm asking for measurements etc.....

Post by zhivago » Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:00 pm

the time has come to spill the beans....I've been thinking about putting a guitar together for a while...for a long time, it was a pipe dream, but lately, I've found I need something to work on in the winter nights, and since I'm a total beginner, this should keep me occupied for a while.

for a long time, I have been mesmerised by the looks of 60s Electric XIIs....a while ago I actualy tried one out, and found out that 12 string isn't my thing...not at this point in my life, anyway :)

so that got me thinking...what about a 6 string version of an electric XII?

with he aid of the dressing room and also photoshop, I came up with a prototype that I think will rule.

the first few problems are parts....the bridge especialy...hence all my questions about equivalents...it appears that the musicmaster reissue bridge with the 6 saddles should work ok, and even if it doesn't at $30  it's not too much of a tragedy.

neck-wise, I'm gonna try and get one of the CIJ ones that are parted out on ebay...I'll sand the back for a more vintage feel, of course :)

body-wise...well...looks like I'm gonna have to get an Allparts blank...that'll take me ages to get right...as I have no real woodworking tools (apart from a drill and a saw), I'll do the routes by hand....and finish-wise...well...no nitro finishing or anything...I'll get some spray cans and do it all it black...I don't mind it looking rough at all...actualy, I want it to look homemade :)

that leaves the pickguard...I figured I could either get one on ebay (long wait + expensive) or just get a trace from someone and get a custom one done...

pickups...I'll ask the seymour duncan guys...or even someone smaller (maybe Curtis Novak)