How Nuts Can You Get w/ The Trem On a Staytrem?

Talk about modding or building your own guitar from scratch.
RoséBear
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

How Nuts Can You Get w/ The Trem On a Staytrem?

Post by RoséBear » Tue Jan 07, 2020 11:35 pm

Ordered one of these, super excited. I got the one with the plastic bushings in case I’d like the bridge not to rock. (From what I know, the best tuning stability comes from a rocking bridge?)

Anyway, I have a mastery and I’ve been using it for years and recently started noticing some annoying issues, as this guitar became my #1 (strings creaking/binding, sympathetic vibrations, etc) so i thought I’d put the staytrem on my jaguar.

I use the trem, play behind the bridge, go pretty nuts with it. Sonic Youth style, but without the screwdrivers. Does the staytrem handle all that as well as the mastery?

ChrisDesign
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: How Nuts Can You Get w/ The Trem On a Staytrem?

Post by ChrisDesign » Fri Jan 10, 2020 1:40 pm

Yes. The Staytrem is rock solid. I replaced my standard bridge with the Staytrem and I’ve had perfect playing ever since. Ok, I had to shim the neck to get the setup just right, but that’s pretty standard with a jazzmaster!
"I own a '66 Jaguar. That's the guitar I polish, and baby - I refuse to let anyone touch it when I jump into the crowd." - Kurt Cobain

RoséBear
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by RoséBear » Fri Jan 10, 2020 10:49 pm

ChrisDesign wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 1:40 pm
Yes. The Staytrem is rock solid. I replaced my standard bridge with the Staytrem and I’ve had perfect playing ever since. Ok, I had to shim the neck to get the setup just right, but that’s pretty standard with a jazzmaster!
Sweet, bridge doesn’t drift with heavy trem use and playing behind the bridge? Also hard playing?

ChrisDesign
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by ChrisDesign » Sat Jan 11, 2020 11:17 am