Advice for turning my first mod (Squier Contemporary Jazzmaster) into the ultimate gigging guitar

Talk about modding or building your own guitar from scratch.
woodenspoon
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Advice for turning my first mod (Squier Contemporary Jazzmaster) into the ultimate gigging guitar

Post by woodenspoon » Tue Feb 05, 2019 12:10 pm

Hey everyone, I just bought my first ever Jazzmaster and I'm looking for advice on how to make it the best ever gigging guitar. I play pretty aggressively so the tune-o-matic bridge on the Squier contemporary was what sold me on it (not to mention that Surf Pearl finish).

This is my first mod and I have no experience with aftermarket parts.

jvin248
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Advice for turning my first mod (Squier Contemporary Jazzmaster) into the ultimate gigging guitar

Post by jvin248 » Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:23 pm

-check the frets with a fret rocker and see if you can benefit from a fret level.

Focus on these parts:
-Bourns pots. These are what Fender put in that $13,000 custom shop EVH guitar a few years back that EVH gigged with all summer. So you know they are durable.
-Nashua aluminum flashing tape (hardware store roll for $7 will shield two dozen guitars, use an ohm meter to verify continuity as you stick it down)
-Shielded cable runs to the jack and switch -- this is about half the noise floor
-Switchcraft 3-way switch
-Switchcraft jack
-Maybe a tuner swap -- if you are good about only 'tuning up' to pitch even the old trapezoid tuners can work.
-Graphite 'lock lube' in the nut slots and saddles.

If your model has the rhythm circuit, and you don't use it, then I'd simplify down to master volume, master tone, 3-way switch. Look up the 'Jazzblaster' models used by Sonic Youth.

Embenny
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Advice for turning my first mod (Squier Contemporary Jazzmaster) into the ultimate gigging guitar

Post by Embenny » Tue Feb 05, 2019 9:13 pm