Unconventional wiring scheme - need help

Talk about modding or building your own guitar from scratch.
dren68
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Unconventional wiring scheme - need help

Post by dren68 » Mon Jul 30, 2018 5:49 am

I remember reading a while back that Oliver Ackerman wired his lipstick pickups straight to the output jack, and since then I've been wanting to try this. I'd still like a way to select each pickup and turn them on/off, though, so I was thinking some sort of pushbutton switches might work. I found these on ebay (photos below). Do you think these switches would work?

Also, I have no idea how exactly to wire these, and since this is kind of unconventional, there are no schematics for something like this. Does anyone have any idea how it should be wired? I'm assuming it's not too complicated, but I have zero experience with this sort of thing, so I'm hoping someone might be able to help.

Gordon
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Unconventional wiring scheme - need help

Post by Gordon » Mon Jul 30, 2018 6:18 am

Assuming they're not momentary, they're just on/off switches. Connect the lead of your pickup to one lug, the jack to the other. One push and the lugs connect, one push and they don't. Simple.
Graphic designer (comics stuff, Doctor Who, Star Wars...): https://www.instagram.com/monsieurgordon/ \o/

dren68
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by dren68 » Mon Jul 30, 2018 6:27 am

Gordon wrote:
Mon Jul 30, 2018 6:18 am
Assuming they're not momentary, they're just on/off switches. Connect the lead of your pickup to one lug, the jack to the other. One push and the lugs connect, one push and they don't. Simple.
Cool! I figured it would be pretty easy. Yeah, the switches are latching, not momentary. Which wire is the lead of the pickup?