Squier Super-Sonic pickup upgrade Suggestions?

Talk about modding or building your own guitar from scratch.
michelle3508
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Squier Super-Sonic pickup upgrade Suggestions?

Post by michelle3508 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 1:11 pm

Hi Everyone-

I bought a 90's Squier Super-Sonic in Black recently, but the original pickups definitely need upgrade.
Which pickup do you suggest? Here's what I'm looking for...

- Need both Neck & Bridge
- Full size humbucker if possible (I'm trying to re-use the original pickguard, but I'm still open for ideas)
- My favorite sound is mainly 90's / Alternative / maybe bit of late 60's like Hendrix.
- I'm a beginner/intermediate player, and I want this to be my main guitar. I started with a Strat but never really had fun / body shape fits me uncomfortable. So I'm looking for more of versatile option than a 1 trick pony.

Thanks in advance!!!

hpr_hpr
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Squier Super-Sonic pickup upgrade Suggestions?

Post by hpr_hpr » Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:05 pm

Hmm . . . .

Well as versatile goes, maybe take a look at SD PRails . . . the claim is that they'll do hum bucker, P90 & single coil tone. I have a pair in a hard tail JM and while I can't vouch for the 'exactness' of any of the tones I can say that there is quite a tonal palette in them. To use them you'll need to make some minor modifications to the pick guard to fit them and some push/pull pots to switch them . . . . To get the most out of them would require 4 miniswitches or a pair of SD triple shot hum bucker rings . . . . . or a rotary pickup selector . . . . .

For traditional hum buckers, SD Jazz neck & JB bridge, or a 59 neck with a pearly gates bridge (or maybe a distortion if your tastes run that way).

Have a look here https://www.seymourduncan.com/pickups/g ... db59615f2c descriptions are always subjective but they also have a good selection of sound samples to give you a better idea of what they are capable of . . . .