Johnny Marr Jag New Switch

Talk about modding or building your own guitar from scratch.
Post Reply
User avatar
JONFROMJERSEY
PAT PEND
PAT PEND
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2018 10:19 am

Johnny Marr Jag New Switch

Post by JONFROMJERSEY » Fri Feb 23, 2018 8:38 pm

Any thoughts or advice about installing one of the these into my Johnny Marr Jag? That is, replacing the Tele switch that I tend to hit when playing.

https://www.centurytool.net/0499000070_ ... 000070.htm

User avatar
arkivel
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 1034
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 6:30 pm
Location: Burnaby, BC

Re: Johnny Marr Jag New Switch

Post by arkivel » Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:51 am

Now there's a one off. might need a new plate to fit that switch. No idea about the wiring. May have to figure out the pins manually.

User avatar
JONFROMJERSEY
PAT PEND
PAT PEND
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2018 10:19 am

Re: Johnny Marr Jag New Switch

Post by JONFROMJERSEY » Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:32 am

To me it makes sense to have a switch like this in that position on the Jaguar. The tall Tele switch is right in the way of my "swing." Probably the only thing "wrong" with this guitar. And the Tele switch on my guitar (4 years old) is already a little loose between the positions.

This site describes the wiring of the low profile switch.

https://www.surplussales.com/switches/swslide-1.html

Stackpole Slide Switch
6 amp @ 125v / 4 Position

(SWS) 110A-2
Stackpole slide switch. 4 position. 6 amp @ 125v. 5 terminals. 1-3/4" mounting centers. Position 1: Terminals 1, 2, 3 closed. 4, 5 open Position 2: Terminals 1, 2, 4 closed. 3, 5 open Position 3: Terminals 1, 2 closed. 3, 4, 5 open Position 4: Terminals 1, 5 closed. 2, 3, 4 open.

Depending on the screw spacing I could potentially modify a Jag Tele switchplate.

Do you think this whole thing is a bad idea for any reason?

User avatar
_nash
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 817
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 1:35 pm
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: Johnny Marr Jag New Switch

Post by _nash » Sat Feb 24, 2018 6:55 am

I don’t think it’s ever a bad idea to try something. Worst case you switch it back.
It’s not very expensive to try.
I would keep the stock switch and plate together without modding them.
Are you sure you don’t want the standard 3 switch Jag setup?
The connections on the switch seem different to me than a Tele 4-way. I’m sure you could make it work though. And the first link is a different switch then the previous posts switch/link. Though the connection might be the same.

Post Reply