Firemaster/Anthony Paine tribute (+ video p.2!)

Talk about modding or building your own guitar from scratch.
epizootics
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Firemaster/Anthony Paine tribute (+ video p.2!)

Post by epizootics » Sat Jul 08, 2017 3:34 am

Hi everybody,

This is my first thread on this board, although I have been keeping an eye one the goings-on for quite a while. I am a French musician and I initially turned to building guitars out of necessity - I needed a decent instrument when I got back to playing guitar with my band after a five-year hiatus during which I was playing the saxophone full time, but didn't have any money to buy one. My dad is retired a cabinet maker and I had access to all the tools I needed in his workshop. The result was this:

...a Strat/Jazzmaster hybrid, with a Strat pickup in the neck and a P90 in the bridge. I had an awful Squier with a decent neck knocking about, which provided the neck and bridge. The body was made in rock-heavy mahogany.

I liked the building process so much I decided to do it again (classic story of addiction!). I also learnt how to wind pickups in the meantime - one of the few perks in being an unemployed struggling musician is that one has a lot of time on one's hands.

Onto the Anthony Paine part now. I hope he won't mind my fanboy spiel here, but Harvester Guitars have been an endless source of admiration and inspiration for me since I discovered them. His designs are incredibly well thought and fun, and his approach really was a big part in my deciding to take the step and build my own instruments. I also like the fact he shares a lot of his thoughts and processes on the internet. I plan on ordering my own Harvester as soon as I have the funds for it, but in the meantime, I borrowed his Kay-inspired headstock shape and blending of materials for this build.