Saylor Starcaster Build

Talk about modding or building your own guitar from scratch.
danp3man
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Saylor Starcaster Build

Post by danp3man » Tue Jun 20, 2017 3:03 am

Bought a Saylor Starcaster style body a while back, and am looking at starting the project now after moving cross country from Arizona to Kansas. Now that we're finally getting settled and I've built a suitable workshop/craft area for my projects, I started playing around with the parts and body- the Warmoth Mooncaster neck is a good fit, although I modded the shape of the headstock and "swoop" to more closely match the Fender Starcaster shape. What I'm scratching my head over is wiring the pots and getting them, with the wiring harness, into the body. Because of the thickness of the body top wood, I need to use long shaft pots, which are pretty difficult to maneuver through the cavities and get through the holes. I could make an opening in the back like a Les Paul which would make life a lot easier, but I really want to keep the back unmolested. The short shaft pots are easier to manipulate, but barely get a tread showing. Any suggestions? Also thinking of going with 500K pots instead of the 1 Meg pots the Starcaster uses- undecided here. Any thoughts on this? Thanks! :unsure:

hpr_hpr
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Saylor Starcaster Build

Post by hpr_hpr » Fri Jun 23, 2017 2:05 pm

What does 'barely showing' actually mean . . . as long at there is enough thread for the nut to completely engage there is enough . . . is not, you can always draw a 1" circle (big enough for the nut . . . check dimensions) with the hole as the center, remove 1/16" or so of wood inside the circle and voila, short shaft pots fit . . .

I believe that I determined that the maximum thickness for short shaft pots is 1/4" in my build.