String Tension Puzzle...

For help with setups and other technical issues.
Danley
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

String Tension Puzzle...

Post by Danley » Mon Jul 06, 2015 8:25 am

Brain teaser: If I have a Strat and a CP Jazzmaster, both set up with Ernie Ball Regular Slinkies...

Why does the Strat appear to have the lower string tension and easier play feel? This, even as the Strat is actually set up with higher action at the moment. One would think, and it's often believed, that the reduced break angle on the Jazzmaster would make it the easier playing, slinkier guitar.
King Buzzo: I love when people come up to me and say “Your guitar sound was better on Stoner Witch, when you used a Les Paul. “...I used a Fender Mustang reissue on that, dumbass!

rumfoord
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: String Tension Puzzle...

Post by rumfoord » Mon Jul 06, 2015 10:54 am

Ooh good one. Probably magic. Errm, I guess that'd be mojo. Never mind.

I would not have guessed that you'd find that. But here are some wild ideas..maybe if the neck of the CP is shimmed combined with the shorter length behind the bridge (compared to original JM spec) there could be enough extra break angle to win out over common sense? Also, weak or low number of springs in the strat? The break angle over the nut?..due to string trees and such?? Fret height??? Oh, possible that the action of the 6th string is higher on the strat (that's where I measure it)..but the rest of the strings actually have lower action (because of the individually adjusted saddles..especially if the two have different neck radii)???????

arkivel
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by arkivel » Mon Jul 06, 2015 11:28 am

I have identical sets of 11s on my Jaguar, Jazzmaster, and Strat. The Strat seems to have the most tension followed by the Jaguar, and then the Jazzmaster. Go figure.

Axeman52
PAT PEND
PAT PEND
Location: Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch, Wales