jazz/jag/stang-o-matic

For help with setups and other technical issues.
User avatar
steab
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:51 am

Re: jazz/jag/stang-o-matic

Post by steab » Fri Mar 25, 2011 8:13 am

Hi, I've do it on my CIJ mustang and jagstang the radius is 9.5" and the TOM radius is 12"

I have no problem with, my intonation is good, action too, and no buzz or anything.. but I have to cut a little the saddle of the low E on my jagstang cause the ABR1 have a small adjustement spacing..
I think the sound change a little bit, more gibsonish :D
Oh, If you want tu use the tremolo, don't do it, TOM and tremolo aren't good friend (TOMs go with stop bar, tremolo go with rounded saddle). That's just an opinion, my opinion, to save strings..

I've got a project to build a jaguar L series and I'm thinking about to put a TOM on it, I've got to increase the radius much more (7.25 for vintage fenders)... it's pretty simple and not a permanent mods..
Professionnal built the titanic, amateur make noe's arch !

User avatar
Metispicker
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 6:55 pm

Re: jazz/jag/stang-o-matic

Post by Metispicker » Sun Apr 10, 2011 5:05 pm

How you size up the bridge if you have a combo radius neck? seems to me that a combo neck would necessitate higher action and make it harder to get the bridge right.

Very interesting info on this thread

User avatar
steab
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:51 am

Re: jazz/jag/stang-o-matic

Post by steab » Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:51 pm

Hi! I never had a combo neck, but for me in the facts all the settings you can do with the jag/jazz/& stang bridge can be done with a TOM, you can set the radius, intonation, action..
You have to know wich radius work better for your neck

And if you have one for trying, you have nothing to loose :)

I hope a combo neck user will help you much more than me :)
Professionnal built the titanic, amateur make noe's arch !

User avatar
mynameisjonas
Admin
Admin
Posts: 12429
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 5:55 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: jazz/jag/stang-o-matic

Post by mynameisjonas » Wed Apr 13, 2011 2:03 am

may i just point out once again that this thread isn't about installing a tune-o-matic on a jazzmaster / jaguar /mustang /jagstang. there are lots and lots of other threads on that subject. this is the opposite of that, i.e. putting a mustang or jaguar/jazzmaster bridge on a guitar that is fitted with a tune-o-matic/adjusto-matic. please read the first post (or at least look at the frikkin' pictures!) before posting.

User avatar
steab
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:51 am

Re: jazz/jag/stang-o-matic

Post by steab » Fri Apr 15, 2011 6:26 am

Oh :-[ :-[ :fp:
I'm really sorry, I haven't read the tread from the beginning..
Professionnal built the titanic, amateur make noe's arch !

User avatar
funkyeah!
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 777
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:02 am
Location: Virginia

Re: jazz/jag/stang-o-matic

Post by funkyeah! » Thu Jun 09, 2011 4:54 pm

So, I just tried doing this, sawed the legs off but my drill won't really drill into the plate... Are my bits not hard enough or does it take a lot of time?
Some days you just can't get rid of a bomb.

User avatar
estranged
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 1048
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 12:02 pm
Location: Eugenia, Oregon
Contact:

Re: jazz/jag/stang-o-matic

Post by estranged » Thu Jun 09, 2011 5:17 pm

dull bits will really make it hard to do - oil and good bits are your friend. Remember to NOT hold the bridge plate in your hand - the bit will catch and spin out of your hand and cause havoc - or, at least it did for ME - clamp that sucker DOWN!
Drill out where the legs were - then just widen then slightly outwards - do a little bit, then check it - you don't have to do much (the measurements i took are a few pages back in this thread - it's only like a couple MM).

good luck!

User avatar
funkyeah!
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 777
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:02 am
Location: Virginia

Re: jazz/jag/stang-o-matic

Post by funkyeah! » Fri Jun 10, 2011 1:40 pm

Used a bit of a bigger bit that was still sharp and stepped up from that. I got up to 15/64ths but wouldn't you know it, I need a 1/4" bit and that's the only bit missing from my dad's bitbox. I don't want to do 17/64ths cause I think there will be wiggle room on the posts.
Some days you just can't get rid of a bomb.

User avatar
estranged
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 1048
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 12:02 pm
Location: Eugenia, Oregon
Contact:

Re: jazz/jag/stang-o-matic

Post by estranged » Fri Jun 10, 2011 1:50 pm

run down to the hardware store - a brand new bit will cost you about $4 - TOPS...and your dad will thank you.... ;D

-aaron

User avatar
funkyeah!
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 777
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:02 am
Location: Virginia

Re: jazz/jag/stang-o-matic

Post by funkyeah! » Fri Jun 10, 2011 4:00 pm

Man I feel so stupid for not remembering how much a drill bit costs, I used to work at a mom and pop hardware store
Some days you just can't get rid of a bomb.

User avatar
DreamTrees
PAT PEND
PAT PEND
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 6:40 pm

Re: jazz/jag/stang-o-matic

Post by DreamTrees » Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:07 am

Does the bridge change make standard JM pickguards fit on classic player models?

User avatar
estranged
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 1048
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 12:02 pm
Location: Eugenia, Oregon
Contact:

Re: jazz/jag/stang-o-matic

Post by estranged » Tue Jul 19, 2011 5:44 am

DreamTrees wrote:Does the bridge change make standard JM pickguards fit on classic player models?
no

User avatar
Black Cat Bone
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 12:54 pm
Location: UK - Chichester

Re: jazz/jag/stang-o-matic

Post by Black Cat Bone » Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:26 am

dug wrote:The classic player offsets have a 9.5 radius and so does the adjustomatic. :whistle:
so the radius isn't off on those guitars.
Mine is not 9.5 radius for sure. The outer strings are slightly higher and lining it up with a 12" Tonepros TOM the heights are exactly the same. It's definitely the TOM that came stock on my CP Jag. Essentially I don't believe the AOM is 9.5. Would love to be proven wrong as it would make many of my planned projects actually have a solution...whilst also meaning the Fender parts control on CPs is a bit lax...

That being said this Stang-o-matic solution is nice and elegant!

User avatar
poly800rock
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2011 5:32 pm

Re: jazz/jag/stang-o-matic

Post by poly800rock » Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:29 pm

so what bridge would you recommend for a j mascis then?

User avatar
bikewoods
PAT PEND
PAT PEND
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 10:46 am

Re: jazz/jag/stang-o-matic

Post by bikewoods » Mon Dec 19, 2011 5:20 am

This is awesome. I'm glad I stumbled on this. however, not quite sure if I'm gonna do it to my CPJHH yet

Post Reply