New nut for the Jazzmaster Player series

For help with setups and other technical issues.
buscon
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

New nut for the Jazzmaster Player series

Post by buscon » Tue Dec 03, 2019 2:10 am

hi all,

I have a Jazzmaster Player Series and I was thinking about getting a new nut.
Any suggestion on which nut would fit and it is worth it to build in?

Thanks!

hwestman
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: New nut for the Jazzmaster Player series

Post by hwestman » Tue Dec 10, 2019 8:51 am

Why do you want to change the nut?

Or do you mean the bridge?

buscon
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Post by buscon » Tue Dec 10, 2019 11:59 am

I wanted to change the nut because the current one is made of plastic.
On the other hand the tuning is quite stable, so maybe I should stay with this one, as it seems to do its job properly.

But I was wondering if any of you have suggestions/opinions about that.

Thanks.

timtam
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by timtam » Tue Dec 10, 2019 5:44 pm

If it's working well I wouldn't mess with it. Is the first fret action OK (low) ? Open chords play in tune ? No nut pinging when tuning or bending/trem use ? You could pay a good tech to remove old nut/fit new nut/file and shape the slots to reproduce the setup you have. Which probably won't make any discernible difference if the nut is already OK ... or it could be worse. Nuts are fiddly little suckers.
http://www.lutherie.net/nuts.html
"I just knew I wanted to make a sound that was the complete opposite of a Les Paul, and that’s pretty much a Jaguar." Rowland S. Howard.

hwestman
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by hwestman » Wed Dec 11, 2019 1:56 am

buscon wrote:
Tue Dec 10, 2019 11:59 am
I wanted to change the nut because the current one is made of plastic.
On the other hand the tuning is quite stable, so maybe I should stay with this one, as it seems to do its job properly.

But I was wondering if any of you have suggestions/opinions about that.

Thanks.