American Pro Jazzmaster- Intonation Issue

For help with setups and other technical issues.
RoséBear
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

American Pro Jazzmaster- Intonation Issue

Post by RoséBear » Tue Mar 19, 2019 12:53 pm

I have an American Pro with a mastery bridge and I’m having a very difficult time trying to intonate it. Every string EVERY string is bang on except for the A string, which is flat. I usually test my intonation by playing the octaves at the 12th fret (Playing the high A on both the a and g strings) and it’s definitely out of tune.

Anyone have any remedy’s for this? Considering the mastery is only a two saddle bridge?
I’ve tried a few packs of strings. GHS boomers actually intonated the best, but I’m not sure that’s all too important.

timtam
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: American Pro Jazzmaster- Intonation Issue

Post by timtam » Tue Mar 19, 2019 4:26 pm

So each string intonates OK (open string or 12th-fret harmonic vs fretted 12th match) but then the A/G octaves are still out ? Or you can't even adjust the Mastery to get the A intonated at the 12th ?
"I just knew I wanted to make a sound that was the complete opposite of a Les Paul, and that’s pretty much a Jaguar." Rowland S. Howard.

Futuron
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by Futuron » Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:12 pm

If you tune the string so it's in tune at 12 fret, are other frets out or just the nut or what?

RoséBear
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by RoséBear » Tue Mar 19, 2019 9:00 pm

timtam wrote:
Tue Mar 19, 2019 4:26 pm
So each string intonates OK (open string or 12th-fret harmonic vs fretted 12th match) but then the A/G octaves are still out ? Or you can't even adjust the Mastery to get the A intonated at the 12th ?
The latter, the A is consistently flat while everything else is perfect

timtam
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by timtam » Tue Mar 19, 2019 9:34 pm

RoséBear wrote:
Tue Mar 19, 2019 9:00 pm
timtam wrote: