Finger picking with an electric guitar

For help with setups and other technical issues.
julius2790
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Finger picking with an electric guitar

Post by julius2790 » Mon Dec 04, 2017 4:36 pm

Hi everyone!

I've decided to challenge myself for this next year and learn to play the electric with my fingers. I'm trying to see if I can get some of that Wilko Johnson vibe mixed with maybe some Travis picking and then use the trem for some subtle flourishes on some ideas I'm working on. There are so many subtleties of tone available it seems.

It's hard! I feel like I'm sitting in a classroom naked trying to play this guitar without a pick. I was wondering if any of you had any advice as far as toughening up the fingers or maybe using finger picks? I work in health care and can't grow nails..plus I always thought their was something creepy about men with long nails on one hand. Do I NEED nails to get the technique down or will the fingers just eventually toughen to allow me to play without them?

Embenny
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Finger picking with an electric guitar

Post by Embenny » Mon Dec 04, 2017 4:51 pm

Don't use fingerpicks.

I work in healthcare and I also trained in the RCM method of classical guitar for many years. Fingerstyle is very much my main "thing" (6/12-string).

It takes VERY little nail to get a nice tone - and many play with zero nail. Your fingers will toughen up. I play Kottke-style 12-string fingerstyle and still keep my nails short enough for work. You can absolutely make it work on electric.

I do use a thumbpick often, more on acoustic than electric, because I like the change in angle that it provides, but for classical and electric, I typically don't. Fred Kelly Slick Picks are my choice for that - not the giant thumbpicks that are just a triangle with a strap, or the too-long Dunlop-style ones.