Replace Jaguar string nut

For help with setups and other technical issues.
airtom
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Replace Jaguar string nut

Post by airtom » Wed Nov 15, 2017 6:52 pm

I am building a Jaguar Classic Player HH. I am using a Squier jag neck and it fits absolutely perfectly in the Fender RI body. I would like to replace the plastic string nut. What should I get...I'm pretty sure the Squier Jag neck is 9.25 radius. I don't know if it is a flat or radius base nut. I am looking for specific recommendations on type of material, vendors, brands...anything to make it easier to wade thru the plethora of choices. I don't know if other Fender guitar model nuts fit or not. Total newbie to this aspect of guitar maintenance. What would you do...other than take it to your local luthier :fp: . Changing the nut is supposed to be a relatively easy job from what I've researched so far. Suggestions please!? Tom

airtom
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Re: Replace Jaguar string nut

Post by airtom » Fri Nov 17, 2017 6:29 am

OK, I called Fender in Ca. and the gentleman told me that a standard Strat string nut will work. My radius is 9.5. I guess I will just order a Graph Tech TUSQ for a Strat and call it good. We shall see. Tom

andy_tchp
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by andy_tchp » Fri Nov 17, 2017 8:09 pm

Replacing a nut is usually not a straight up 'replace and call it good' exercise.

The pre-cut nut slots are just a guide for string spacing. You need to cut the slots to the correct depth for the fret height/radius specific to the neck its being installed on.
"I don't know why we asked him to join the band 'cause the rest of us don't like country music all that much; we just like Graham Lee."
David McComb, 1987.

airtom
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Post by airtom » Sat Nov 25, 2017 8:07 am