Correct String Nut height at 1st Fret???

For help with setups and other technical issues.
Larsongs
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Correct String Nut height at 1st Fret???

Post by Larsongs » Mon May 22, 2017 4:28 pm

Just got a JMJM. The Action is really high. I did a basic Setup. Adjust Relief, Bridge Height & Intonation.

I did a Search but couldn't find anything here that covers this? Probably me. Oh well......

I called Fender they said, The String height at the Nut & 1st Fret should be .020mm. My Feeler Gauge goes as high as .027mm & the String height is way higher than that. I presume the Frets need Filing. Which I've never done before. Although I have Files In my Set up Tool Kit.

Are there standard String Height Measurements or Specs for Guitars? Are they all the same? Doubt it? Is there a Link here anyone can direct me to about String Height Specs & how to File Nuts?

Thanks,

Lars

_nash
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Correct String Nut height at 1st Fret???

Post by _nash » Mon May 22, 2017 6:29 pm

I'm not exactly sure what you're asking, I'm mainly throw off by the fret filing comment. I don't see anything in your post that leads me to believe your frets need filing.
But the string height at the nut and first fret is the same (at least roughly). This means the height above the second fret when fretting the first is the same as the height above the first fret with an open string. With the string open, if the height above the first is higher then the height above the second when fretting the first the nut must be filed down. This assumes the guitar is otherwise set up correctly.

Larsongs
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by Larsongs » Mon May 22, 2017 9:26 pm

I'm not understanding?