Choosing the most appropriate Jazzmaster pickups

For help with setups and other technical issues.
idropinus
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Choosing the most appropriate Jazzmaster pickups

Post by idropinus » Wed Apr 12, 2017 10:07 am

Hi everyone,

I have a Squier J Mascis Jazzmaster that I want to improve a bit, so i'm looking for the best pups for the use that i have to do. Although the great section of this forum helped me a lot, can't decide between some of them, i don't have way to try them and from the recs or Youtube videos they all seem soooo good.

First of all, the sound that I need to have is noisy, with possibilities of making feedback and kinda shoegaze parts, but i'm also really interested in a kind of math rock clean/slightly overdrived sound, and i'm looking for the best pick ups that can offer mostly both of them.

I use almost always an Ibanez Ts9 Tube Screamer with the drive on 6/7; when I come to distortion, I have my Big Muff Pi (that is quite difficult to control the way I want, and i want pups that can keep the sound without making only a fuzzy buzz), and I run everything through my vintage Roland JC-120.

Now, after hours of searching, my choice went to one between these four:

- Novak JM-V

- Seymour Duncan Antiquity I

- Seymour Duncan Antiquity II

- Lollar (eventually one standard Jazzmaster on the neck and one P-90 on the bridge)

For the Duncans', I found this on Ebay:
http://www.ebay.it/itm/131929255327?_tr" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; ... EBIDX%3AIT
that seems good to me, also for improving the wire, although I will make it by myself.

So, does everyone already know if there are pickups that can satisfy any of my requests? Could they be one of these four?

Thank you for your attention.

Embenny
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Choosing the most appropriate Jazzmaster pickups

Post by Embenny » Wed Apr 12, 2017 11:54 am