Jazzmaster tremolo arm when in the case

Discussion of newer designs, copies and reissue offset-waist instruments.
Cooperman
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Jazzmaster tremolo arm when in the case

Post by Cooperman » Sat Jul 21, 2018 11:15 am

OK, I'm new to the Jazzmaster world having just scored a 60th Anniversary classic. I love this guitar. I have one question. I'm sure its been covered here before but my search did not provide the information I'm looking for. When I'm not playing my guitars, I always keep them in their cases. When I put my Jazzmaster in its case and close the lid, the top make no allowance for the tremolo bar and, therefore, places downward pressure on it when closed. There is no way to rotate the arm to prevent this. I really don't want to remove the bar every time I put my guitar in its case because I'm afraid this will eventually compromise the function of the bar and its ability to stay where I move it without swing down. When I push it in fully, it is a tight fit and it takes considerable effort to remove it. Please let me know how you work around this. Did I not get the proper case ?

aliendawg
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Jazzmaster tremolo arm when in the case

Post by aliendawg » Sat Jul 21, 2018 11:22 am

I'd really like to know as well.

Some people say there's a specific angle where it doesn't push/pull the bar but I never understood it completely

Eric Baecht (Worked as guitar tech for Sonic Youth) said this in an article: "Even in a hard case, just find the angle (sort of over the jack) that the arm will bend the least when it's in the case. Believe me, those SY guitars traveled millions of miles and it was never an issue."

source: https://www.premierguitar.com/articles/ ... nance_Tips

I still haven't tried this, though... My Jag almost doesn't fit the hard case and the replacement tremolo bar I ordered didn't arrive yet.