Differences between 62 & 65 AVRI? [Yes Im a Noob]

Discussion of newer designs, copies and reissue offset-waist instruments.
justin78f
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Differences between 62 & 65 AVRI? [Yes Im a Noob]

Post by justin78f » Sat Dec 02, 2017 9:50 pm

Hey so this is my first post, figured it might as well ask a question.

I've loved Jazzmasters since I first saw one. I've played different version over the years but now I've decided I wanna buy one.

My issue is, I don't have quite enough for the AVRI 65 ($3,100 Canadian). This is a guitar i plan on keeping forever, so with that in mind I want it to be great quality. Im looking for vintage spec and classic Jazzmaster single coils, so both these guitars check those boxes There is a used AVRI 62 Jazzmaster near me for $1700. However, I cant seem to find a lot of information on the 62 vs the 65 so I thought it might be worth a question. Seeing as I'm a total Jazzmaster noob., is there that much of a difference in part/build quality, country of origin, shortcomings or issues with either model? Also any alternatives you could think of (I've considered Creston and Ron Kirn builds as well)?

If anyone in the know could answer some of these question I'd be extremely thankful.

otis
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Differences between 62 & 65 AVRI? [Yes Im a Noob]

Post by otis » Sun Dec 03, 2017 1:49 am

your best bet is to use the search function.
plenty of threads here about this.
Some like the '65 more, some others, like me, like the '62 more.
The thinner neck of the '62 being the main reason for me.

Johnny Alien
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by Johnny Alien » Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:58 am

There are spec differences (electronics and neck profile) but quality wise you will be fine with either. Both are great. If you can deal with the limited color selection the MIM Classic Lacquer and Road Worn are (IMO) just as good as the 62 AVRI and come with great pickups.

Pepe Silvia
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923