Proper installation of a 3-prong AC cord for Fender Amps

A sub forum for our most useful repair, maintenence & upgrade threads.
Post Reply
User avatar
OffYourFace
Mods
Mods
Posts: 12136
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA

Proper installation of a 3-prong AC cord for Fender Amps

Post by OffYourFace » Fri May 29, 2015 11:56 pm

Get rid of the 'death cap'

http://www.unclespot.com/2to3prongconversion.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Image
synth tech at www.rosensound.com

User avatar
sookwinder
Mods
Mods
Posts: 9989
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 6:47 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia

Re: Proper installation of a 3-prong AC cord for Fender Amps

Post by sookwinder » Sat May 30, 2015 12:02 am

I'd even question (in 2015 with the invention of the multi outlet power boards) why one would even wire in the "Accessory outlet".
Just by-pass it totally, leave it in for visual effect (and fill the hole) but remove it totally from the circuit.
relaxing alternative to doing actual work ...

User avatar
OffYourFace
Mods
Mods
Posts: 12136
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 2:59 pm
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA

Re: Proper installation of a 3-prong AC cord for Fender Amps

Post by OffYourFace » Sat May 30, 2015 12:15 am

true!
synth tech at www.rosensound.com

User avatar
46346
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 2559
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 1:39 am
Location: South Los
Contact:

Re: Proper installation of a 3-prong AC cord for Fender Amps

Post by 46346 » Fri Jun 05, 2015 2:55 pm

save the 'death cap' for possible re-use as a coupling cap in a vintage Fender (thus maintaining vintage 'correctness'), especially the classic blue molded pill-looking ones. or sell it on ebay for $10-15!
Dream Apes, ACME, Malcolm Mooney, Cat Museum, Cooling Time

Post Reply