Restoring a '65 (I think) Jazzmaster

Bringing your older offset back to life.
Lobsterdeth
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Restoring a '65 (I think) Jazzmaster

Post by Lobsterdeth » Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:35 pm

I got a 65 Jazzmaster (for free, go me!) but it's really beat up, so I'm looking for some info before I restore it.

See the guitar's current state here: http://img198.imageshack.us/img198/4490/3009092046.jpg

As you can see, that neck is not the original neck, the finish is beat up and it's missing the tremolo arm and the little round thing where the arm goes in.

So my questions in order are:

1.- As far as I'm concerned, currently no parts dealer makes Jazzmaster necks, so I'm gonna have to have one custom made. What are the exact neck dimensions? Since this is a '65 (judging from the witch hat knobs) it's gonna be dots + white binding right?

2.- What kind of finishes where around in '65? I was thinking of Burgundy Mist but I can't recall if they had that at the time.

3.- Where can I get a replacement tremolo arm/round thingie? Or am I gonna have to buy the whole tremolo tail for those two things?

Thank you for your patience, I await your answers.
Love and hate were in the air like pollen from a flower.
--------------------------------------------------
https://shutupjam.bandcamp.com/

BoringPostcards
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Restoring a '65 (I think) Jazzmaster

Post by BoringPostcards » Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:43 pm

Answer for #3: You can get the bushing and spring kit and all that at GPR :http://www.guitarpartsresource.com/hardware_other.html

also, awesome screenname! Lobsterdeth! I was once in a band called Lobster Stairs. We'd have drinking contests at our shows and the winner would get a live lobster from a tank that was onstage. Retarded, I know. Crowd loved it.

Welcome to OSG!
Det er mig der holder traeerne sammen.

Lobsterdeth
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by Lobsterdeth » Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:50 pm