Is this a real vintage Fender neck?

Discussion of vintage Jazzmasters, Jaguars, Bass VIs, Electric XIIs and any other offset-waist instruments.
X-Ray Spex
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Is this a real vintage Fender neck?

Post by X-Ray Spex » Mon Apr 08, 2019 5:48 am

This popped up on Ebay but I'm skeptical at best, the date stamp on the bottom looks wrong to me but I have zero first hand experience with vintage Jazzmasters so I was wondering what do the experts on here think? https://www.ebay.com/itm/Refretted-Vint ... SwTEpcpNqi
''It's not what you play, it's what you play'' - Troy Van Leeuwen

rbrcbr
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Is this a real vintage Fender neck?

Post by rbrcbr » Mon Apr 08, 2019 7:08 am

I'm not an expert on this but if I remember correctly, pencil date on the neck heel is normal for 1959 & 1960. The clay dots are correct for a 1960 along with what looks like a real Brazilian rosewood fretboard, only thing that sort of seems fishy to me is how clean the back of the neck looks. Hardly any playwear (if any). Maybe it was refinished? They say it's original and it feels nicely broken in but doesn't show much wear. The back of the headstock and front both have that weird damage at the end, not sure what that's about. Otherwise it seems fine?

Sorry I don't have a whole lot of experience with vintage guitars in general, someone else with more knowledge will chime in shortly. Seems alright to me though.

øøøøøøø
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by øøøøøøø » Mon Apr 08, 2019 7:59 am

The neck date looks fine to me. Slightly weird that it's off-center a bit, but this sort of thing is almost like provenance in my book... Fender was nothing if not inconsistent, and sometimes one of the things that makes a fake seem fishy is that everything is just a little too right, with nothing unexpected... know what I mean? If I were going to fake a neck, I'd put the pencil date in a "more normal" location.