Chronologized Jag Experience/Project

Discussion of vintage Jazzmasters, Jaguars, Bass VIs, Electric XIIs and any other offset-waist instruments.
TJS
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Chronologized Jag Experience/Project

Post by TJS » Thu Feb 15, 2018 6:34 am

My name is Curtis. I have been tasked by a good friend to evaluate and possibly nurse his Fender Jaguar. He is not a guitar player but he's somehow had this Jaguar since he was a boy.

The Jag came to me without a case and in a most disturbing state of filth. I have taken a number of pictures before any cleaning whatsoever, which I will share/post to the best of my ability. Since I have never done this before, I ask for patience and understanding straight away. The serial # of the metal plate on the body of this Jaguar is 11133.
Image This is confusing straight away because that number indicates a date of 1956 but that can't be right because the Jaguar wasn't introduced until 1962. So then I notice that same # on the tremolo as a patent # so I guess they put that same # on the body plate?
ImageI will be taking the neck off to get a look at the information there, but not before I have satisfied myself that it is even necessary. I have several questions to be answered before I do anything at all to this guitar. I am concerned that I will become overly attached to this instrument should I put too much effort into her. I am a guitar lover at heart and I'm certain that just cleaning her will begin the process of attachment. I realize this is goofy sentiment but nonetheless true.