VST .dll file issue

All instruments that aren't guitars (or bass guitars).
Post Reply
User avatar
budda12ax7
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 5970
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:04 pm
Location: Mean Streets of OC

VST .dll file issue

Post by budda12ax7 » Thu Nov 22, 2018 12:17 pm

OK....I'm a total newb with soft synth. I have several on my ipad, but I upgraded to presonus studio 4 professional.

My question is: I've downloaded a few VST soft synths,,,,,so how do I open them on just my laptop to try them out....OR can you actually do this?

Second Question- how do I get the VST synth to run in the presonus environment. When I open the files of the downloaded synth...I'm left with a .dll file. So what do I do with it?

User avatar
Larry Mal
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 11706
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 4:25 pm
Location: Saint Louis, MO

Re: VST .dll file issue

Post by Larry Mal » Thu Nov 22, 2018 12:50 pm

Back in those days, everyone knew that if you were talking about Destiny's Child, you were talking about Beyonce, LaTavia, LeToya, and Larry.

User avatar
budda12ax7
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 5970
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:04 pm
Location: Mean Streets of OC

Re: VST .dll file issue

Post by budda12ax7 » Thu Nov 22, 2018 5:53 pm

Thanks...

I've watched several tutorials......maybe the set up is wrong.

User avatar
electric12
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 1190
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 12:26 am
Location: Beneath asbestos skies

Re: VST .dll file issue

Post by electric12 » Sat Dec 22, 2018 10:55 am

Unless the VST instrument has a dedicated installer you need to manually place the dll file in the folder appropriate to the DAW. For example, with Cubase there is a common VST folder created on the C: drive in which you can place dll's, Possibly Studio One does the same; I have used Studio One on a PC that also had Cubase on it and in that case I just had to point Studio One in the direction of that VST folder (somewhere in audio preferences IIRC). There is bound to be a folder for VSTis created when you installed Studio oNe, either on it's own, or within the Studio One folder itself.

Again, unless the instrument has a dedicated installer that allows standalone installations, you will only be able to use it within the DAW.

I hope that makes sense and is helpful.

User avatar
budda12ax7
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 5970
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:04 pm
Location: Mean Streets of OC

Re: VST .dll file issue

Post by budda12ax7 » Mon Dec 24, 2018 4:31 pm

electric12 wrote:
Sat Dec 22, 2018 10:55 am
Unless the VST instrument has a dedicated installer you need to manually place the dll file in the folder appropriate to the DAW. For example, with Cubase there is a common VST folder created on the C: drive in which you can place dll's, Possibly Studio One does the same; I have used Studio One on a PC that also had Cubase on it and in that case I just had to point Studio One in the direction of that VST folder (somewhere in audio preferences IIRC). There is bound to be a folder for VSTis created when you installed Studio oNe, either on it's own, or within the Studio One folder itself.

Again, unless the instrument has a dedicated installer that allows standalone installations, you will only be able to use it within the DAW.

I hope that makes sense and is helpful.
Thanks....explored a bit more. Some of the vst free synths had problems uploading the presets. Funny...sometimes it worked, and sometimes it did not .

Post Reply