Urgh ... audio interface woes

Get that song on tape! Errr... disk?
User avatar
ChrisFFTA
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 2206
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:15 pm

Re: Urgh ... audio interface woes

Post by ChrisFFTA » Tue Mar 24, 2020 3:20 pm

Yeah that helped tremendously

What cables would work and do they need to be stereo both ends?

User avatar
somanytoys
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 3325
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:59 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Re: Urgh ... audio interface woes

Post by somanytoys » Tue Mar 24, 2020 8:35 pm

I don’t know much about studio monitors (don’t have any).

If the interface’s output signals and/or the monitors’ input signals are balanced, you would need 2 TRS cables.

If neither of them are balanced, would think that 2 normal TS cables would work, since it’s only 1 channel each - left & right.

You may well want to wait for someone else to give a more experienced answer.
-David

It's a boost booster, to boost your boost - it makes your tone much muchier.

User avatar
ChrisFFTA
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 2206
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:15 pm

Re: Urgh ... audio interface woes

Post by ChrisFFTA » Tue Mar 24, 2020 11:48 pm

I’m grabbing some TRS cables and will how that goes

Strangely now I can’t here any recorded pieces nor can I hear any of say the built in drum loops etc

Super weird....

User avatar
ChrisFFTA
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 2206
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:15 pm

Re: Urgh ... audio interface woes

Post by ChrisFFTA » Sat Mar 28, 2020 5:06 am

Bought new cables and all sorted. Thanks everyone

User avatar
ChrisFFTA
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 2206
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:15 pm

Re: Urgh ... audio interface woes

Post by ChrisFFTA » Tue Apr 14, 2020 12:46 am

Another noob q... you can’t plug into your pedalboard and then into an audio interface and expect it to sound good, right?

User avatar
MayTheFuzzBeWithYou
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 705
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 12:28 am
Location: Linz, Austria

Re: Urgh ... audio interface woes

Post by MayTheFuzzBeWithYou » Tue Apr 14, 2020 1:02 am

ChrisFFTA wrote:
Tue Apr 14, 2020 12:46 am
Another noob q... you can’t plug into your pedalboard and then into an audio interface and expect it to sound good, right?
I‘d say it depends how you do your recordings...
I use a Focusrite Scarlet2i2 -with GarageBand and I‘m pretty sure you can record with Ableton while using Garage Band‘s amp selection (or even import the one in the other) - if you don‘t have any amp plug-ins you could probably use some kind of „amp modeller pedal“ like those cheap Harley Benton/Joyo American/British Sound - or like the ones of Boss/Fender (Bassman59, etc.) in the end of your chain.

User avatar
somanytoys
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 3325
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:59 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Re: Urgh ... audio interface woes

Post by somanytoys » Thu Apr 16, 2020 7:05 pm

Speaking only from the standpoint of having tried to use a cab sim after an effects chain only (even with an amp in a box), it needs a preamp to give it some life.
-David

It's a boost booster, to boost your boost - it makes your tone much muchier.

User avatar
budda12ax7
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 6244
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:04 pm
Location: Mean Streets of OC

Re: Urgh ... audio interface woes

Post by budda12ax7 » Sun Apr 19, 2020 8:13 am

I have the focusrite scarlet 4 input thing....

I have used my pedals straight into the focusrite......mostly for modulation. Sounded fine. I use Ampire and Bias FX for my cab sim and amps....it does work, you just need to play around with it.

Post Reply