the jazzmaster!

New to the board? Start a post to tell us about yourself and/or learn more about our other members.
dcr
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

the jazzmaster!

Post by dcr » Sat May 03, 2008 12:19 pm

Hi Everyone,

New to the board; I actually just read about this website from another forum, and it looks interesting.  I've been playing guitar for 14 years, and played an Ibanez PF5 acoutic and an American Std. Strat for the first ten of those 14 years.  I bought a '62 Reissue SG about three years ago, and picked up a American Reissue Jazzmaster a month ago.  I've done a fair amount of reading about the Jazzmaster and Jaguar, and I am experiencing some of the bridge/saddle issues that I'd read about before purchasing the guitar.  Right now I'm trying to decide between a buzz stop and a mustang bridge (to solve the issue with the saddle heights slipping down), and I'm also trying to decide between the Fender and Warmoth mustang bridge...not sure if the adjustable heights of individual saddles on the Warmoth bridge hold in place better than the original Jazzmaster bridge.  I'm hoping to keep it sounding as close to what I have right now with 10s & the original bridge.  Wondering about the tone changes that might come with the buzzstop.  Lots of decisions, including 10's or 11's for strings.  I play through a '65 Deluxe Reverb Fender amp, and mess around with a Rat pedal, English Muff'n, and DD6, but I go for a clean sound most of the time. 

dcr

idiotbear

Re: the jazzmaster!

Post by idiotbear » Sat May 03, 2008 1:08 pm

Welcome!

I like the Warmoth mustang bridge, but as a former buzz-stop user, I have to say DON'T DO IT! Not if you want a classic offset tone. Makes it too sustainy, IMO.

I've never met an offset bridge that didn't start behaving itself after a really good setup. A lot of techs suck at setting these guitars up, btw.

RumorsOFsurF
Mods
Mods

Post by RumorsOFsurF » Sat May 03, 2008 1:17 pm