New User in Colorado

New to the board? Start a post to tell us about yourself and/or learn more about our other members.
ThePearDream
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

New User in Colorado

Post by ThePearDream » Tue Jun 27, 2017 7:14 pm

Hi everyone, my name is Doug. I've been lurking around here for quite a while and decided to finally set up an account.
So, a little about myself...
I started playing guitar when I was 16, with a Samick Abilene Strat copy (I still have the body in a beater guitar). The first few years I had lots of time, but no money.
When I was 20 I joined the Army. I did five years as a SIGINT Analyst, with a year in Afghanistan. During that period, I had lots of money, but no time.
I was able to build up a respectable collection - lots of strats, MIJ Jazzmaster, a second Talman, a Breedlove, etc.
After getting out of the Army, I went to college on the GI Bill, so I had neither time, nor money. I decided to give up guitar to concentrate on school, and slowly sold off most of my gear to pay for tuition and rent. I only kept a a parts strat and my two Talmans and only played those 1-2 times a year. I got a Poli-Sci degree, realized I hated it, then got an Interior Design degree. Now, I work as an Interior Designer and am finally making a decent living again.
About two years ago, I realized that I really missed the guitar and I finally had both time and money!
So, over the last two years I've quickly built my collection back up (a bit too quickly for my wife).

I have a fair amount of experience with wood working and finishing and have a decent selection of tools.
So, I should have some (hopefully) interesting projects to share with the community in the future.

Here's my current gear
Offsets:
1995 Ibanez Talman TC420 - Metallic Red w/ pearl pg
1996 Ibanez Talman TC630 - Metallic Blue, matching headstock w/ pearl pg
2015 Ibanez Talman TM302 - heavily modified - Ivory w/ red pearl pg
2015 Squier VM Jazzmaster - Sonic Blue w/ parchment pg