New member from Nashville with a '62 Jazzmaster

New to the board? Start a post to tell us about yourself and/or learn more about our other members.
Ben127
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

New member from Nashville with a '62 Jazzmaster

Post by Ben127 » Mon Nov 07, 2016 10:58 am

Hey everybody, I just joined here as I'm getting more into Fender offsets these days. I'm a Gibson guy at heart and I mostly play in open E. My main guitar is a Dickey Betts Signature SG a '53 Les Paul routed for humbuckers as my number 2, but earlier this year I got a '62 slab board Jazzmaster that's mostly original besides a Danocaster refinish in black. I always loved the feel of Jazzmasters but never really thought they were a useable sound for me, but this one is so fat and thick sounding that it really holds it's own with my Gibsons. I love Fender amps and my main studio amp is a 1964 Fender Deluxe Reverb with a JBL D120F, but I never thought I'd own a pre-CBS Fender guitar.

Next on my list is a '64-'66 Mustang, hopefully in blue. I had a MIJ reissue when I was 10 and I started gigging on that guitar. Sold it once I got hooked on Gibsons since it wasn't the best guitar. But now that I know I like old Fenders, I'm on the hunt for a nice original blue Mustang that's affordable. I'll keep it in open D.