early CAN

Favorite new record? Favorite old record? Got a band? Post it here.
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

early CAN

Post by 46346 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 3:51 pm

i played an amazing gig this week with Malcolm Mooney, who was the original singer for the German band CAN. i had been quite aware of their later material with Damo Suzuki, but i studied a lot of the Malcolm material (Monster Movie, Unlimited Edition, Delay 1968) and wow... proto-punk and garage elements, with a strong hint of the Krautrock to come. very energetic. now i can really hear the influence on various stages of Radiohead, etc.

thee amazing thing is we sold out the Echo in Los Angeles - and they said they had to turn 200 people away! i was expecting a bunch of old record collector guys... but it was mostly 20's and 30's (plenty of older cats and kitties too).

now i'm hooked - luckily there are a couple more records i can check out. and hopefully do more stuff with Malcolm. a very sweet and creative man.
Cat Museum, ACME, Malcolm Mooney, Dream Apes, The Cooling Time, Kind Hearts and Coronets, Quarks

HorseyBoy
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: early CAN

Post by HorseyBoy » Sat Jan 30, 2016 11:04 pm

I remember Julian Cope in his "Krautrocksampler" was of the opinion that Can only went downhill after Malcolm Mooney left. "Monster Movie" is awesome, and there are some great Malcolm tracks on "The Lost Tapes".

shadowplay
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by shadowplay » Sat Jan 30, 2016 11:53 pm

HorseyBoy wrote:I remember Julian Cope in his "Krautrocksampler" was of the opinion that Can only went downhill after Malcolm Mooney left. "Monster Movie" is awesome, and there are some great Malcolm tracks on "The Lost Tapes".
I've pretty sure you're confused and mean they went down a level after Damo Suzuki left.