Does this happen to YOU?

Favorite new record? Favorite old record? Got a band? Post it here.
fullerplast
Mods
Mods

Does this happen to YOU?

Post by fullerplast » Sun Dec 24, 2006 9:47 am

I suppose it happens to everybody, but....  Do you find the first time you play something new to be surprisingly easy, then later have difficulty with it? How frustrating!

Not being an accomplished guitarist, I usually have to download tabs or chords to something. I've found that I can take something new, even something relatively challenging, and almost nail it the first few times (vocals and all). Even my wife will come into the room, all "that sounded good!"

I'll be happy with myself and go around with the song stuck in my head. But then the next time I try it.... I SUCK! I just can't make my fingers or voice do it. And it may be weeks before it ever comes out right again! I tell you, this frustrates the hell out of me...

I'm a very elementary player, doing covers...  but does this happen to "good" players? Does it happen with original songs too? How do you combat it?

:o
Q. Are we not men?

mezcalhead
Admin
Admin

Re: Does this happen to YOU?

Post by mezcalhead » Sun Dec 24, 2006 11:54 am

No, it doesn't happen to me .. what a curious phenomenon!

Maybe it's an issue of concentration .. the first time you play it you're just concentrating on the song itself, then thereafter you're thinking too much about what you sound like, look like, etc. This will get worse as you worry about messing things up after your first time playing them. Can you trace what your thoughts are during all this?

I own a copy of a book called "The Inner Game Of Music" which deals with improving how the player approaches music .. you might find it helpful. You can google up the guy's website easily enough.